Pearl Jam Ten

Cross wrote in The Rolling Stone Album Guide that Ten sounded less original and more self-important than Nirvana's Nevermindbut it also showcases the band's intricate guitar style and Vedder's distinctive singing. Search Search. However, a Pearl Jam Ten member number will automatically Pearl Jam Ten assigned and all seniority will be lost. Retrieved August 14, April 11, It was the first reissue in a planned re-release of Pearl Jam's entire catalogue that led up to the band's 20th anniversary in

Members who wish to retrieve their original membership number that has been inactive for less than one year, may contact info tenclub. Members who wish to retrieve their original membership number that has been inactive for less than one year, may contact us. Become a member today to receive.

Log In Sign Up. Full Website Access. Thursday 18 July Friday 19 July Saturday 20 July Sunday 21 July Monday 22 July Tuesday 23 July Wednesday 24 July Thursday 25 July Friday 26 July Saturday 27 July Sunday 28 July Monday 29 July Tuesday 30 July Wednesday 31 July Thursday 1 August Friday 2 August Saturday 3 August Sunday 4 August Monday 5 August Tuesday 6 August Wednesday 7 August Thursday 8 August Friday 9 August Saturday 10 August Sunday 11 August Monday 12 August Tuesday 13 August Wednesday 14 August Thursday 15 August Friday 16 August Saturday 17 August Sunday 18 August Monday 19 August Tuesday 20 August Wednesday 21 August Thursday 22 August Friday 23 August Saturday 24 August Sunday 25 August Monday 26 August Tuesday 27 August Wednesday 28 August Thursday 29 August Friday 30 August Saturday 31 August Sunday 1 September Monday 2 September Tuesday 3 September Wednesday 4 September Thursday 5 September Friday 6 September Drinking Hanging Out In Love.

Introspection Late Night Partying. Rainy Day Relaxation Road Trip. Romantic Evening Sex All Themes. Features Interviews Lists. Streams Videos All Posts. Album Pick. Stream or buy on:. Release Date August 27, They gave me many chances, but I couldn't get it together.

Palmer decided to mix the album at Ridge Farm Studios in Dorking , a converted farm that according to Palmer was "about as far away from an L. Palmer overdubbed a pepper shaker and a fire extinguisher as percussion on "Oceans".

In subsequent years, band members have expressed dissatisfaction with the way the album's mixing turned out. In , Ament said, "I'd love to remix Ten. Ed, for sure, would agree with me. It wouldn't be like changing performances; just pull some of the reverb off it. There's a lot of reverb on the record.

It was kind of mixed in a way that was Several of the songs on Ten started as instrumental compositions that Vedder added lyrics to after he joined the band. Regarding the lyrics, Vedder said, "All I really believe in is this fucking moment, like right now. And that, actually, is what the whole album talks about. The album also tackles social concerns such as homelessness "Even Flow" [14] and the use of psychiatric hospitals "Why Go".

Many listeners interpreted "Alive" as an inspirational anthem due to its decidedly uplifting instrumentals and chorus. Vedder has since revealed that the song tells the semi-autobiographical tale of a son discovering that his father is actually his stepfather his real father having died long ago , while his mother's grief turns her to sexually embrace her son, who strongly resembles the biological father. Vedder explained that the lyrics told the story of a young man whose father dies "Alive" , causing him to go on a killing spree "Once" which leads to his capture and execution "Footsteps".

It was later revealed that Vedder's lyrics were inspired by his long-held hurt in discovering at age 17 that the man he thought was his father was not, and that his real father had already died. While Ten deals with dark subject matter, it has generally been seen as a high-water mark of the early s alternative rock sound, with Vedder's unusually deep and strong and later much-imitated voice alternating between solidity and vibrato against the unrestrained, guitar-heavy, hard rock sound that drew influence from Led Zeppelin and other rock bands of the s.

Ten 's musical style, influenced by classic rock , combined an "expansive harmonic vocabulary" with an anthemic sound. The first part begins the album, before " Once " starts, and the second part closes the album, after "Release". It begins about ten seconds after the album's closer "Release" as a hidden track , but both count as one track on the CD. The song is entirely instrumental except for random unintelligible words Vedder utters throughout with a dominant fretless bass line making up the core of the song which Ament referred to in a Bass Player magazine interview as "my tribute to fretless bass instrumentalist Mick Karn " , [20] along with some guitar and sounds that seem to come from the drums.

I heard the bass line and then we kind of were collaborating on that in the control room, and then I just started programming on the keyboard all this stuff; he was jamming with it and it just kind of came about like that.

The album's singles featured two B-sides from the Ten recording sessions which were not included on the album, "Wash" and " Yellow Ledbetter ". The former was a B-side on the "Alive" single while the latter was featured on the "Jeremy" single and eventually became a radio hit in Both songs were included on the Lost Dogs collection of rarities, although the included version of "Wash" is an alternate take.

The song "Alone" was also originally recorded for Ten ; a re-recorded version of the song is on the " Go " single. Another version of "Alone", with re-recorded vocals, appears on Lost Dogs. Thus, "Dirty Frank" is not from the Ten recording sessions. The song "Footsteps" began as an instrumental demo and was compiled onto the Stone Gossard Demos '91 tape. Vedder added vocals to this version after he received the demo tape.

Other songs rejected from the album but later included on Lost Dogs are "Hold On" and "Brother", the latter of which was turned into an instrumental for Lost Dogs. The album's cover art features the members of the band at the time of recording in a group pose and standing in front of a wood cut-out of the name "Pearl Jam", with their hands risen high and holding one another's. The wood cut-out was constructed by Ament.

The version that everybody got to know as the Ten album cover was pink and it was originally intended to be more of a burgundy color and the picture of the band was supposed to be black and white. In commemoration of the band's original name, the band titled its first album Ten after Blaylock's jersey number.

In some versions, the cover is in gatefold form, folded in such a way that only the bandmembers' hands are visible. Ament stated that "essentially Ten was just an excuse to tour," adding, "We told the record company, 'We know we can be a great band, so let's just get the opportunity to get out and play. The spot was arranged by Jack Irons, who had called his former band asking for them to get an opportunity to his friend Vedder.

Nirvana was initially brought in because the tour promoters decided that Pearl Jam should be replaced with a more successful act, [33] but the departure of The Smashing Pumpkins still kept the group in the concert bill. In , the band embarked on its first ever European tour.

Goldstone noted that the band's audience expanded, saying that unlike before, "everyone came. During their first tour, you kind of knew it was happening and there was no stopping it. To play in the Midwest and be selling out these seat clubs. Eddie could say he wanted to talk to Brett, the sound guy, and they'd carry him out there on their hands. You hadn't really seen that reaction from a crowd before The band cancelled its remaining European dates in the summer of after the Roskilde Festival due to a confrontation with security at that event as well as exhaustion from touring.

I think there just came a point about half way through that tour it was just starting to get pretty intense. I mean just being away from home, being on the road all the time and being lonely or being depressed or whatever.

It was the first reissue in a planned re-release of Pearl Jam's entire catalogue that led up to the band's 20th anniversary in Regarding his remix of the album, O'Brien stated, "The band loved the original mix of Ten , but were also interested in what it would sound like if I were to deconstruct and remix it The original Ten sound is what millions of people bought, dug and loved, so I was initially hesitant to mess around with that.

After years of persistent nudging from the band, I was able to wrap my head around the idea of offering it as a companion piece to the original—giving a fresh take on it, a more direct sound. The Ten reissue sold 60, copies in its first week, the second biggest selling week for the album since Christmas Tying in with the re-release of the album, in March , the entire album was made available as downloadable content for the Rock Band series of video games.

In a contemporary review for Rolling Stone , music critic David Fricke gave the album a favorable review, saying that Pearl Jam "hurtles into the mystic at warp speed. In a less enthusiastic review for Entertainment Weekly , David Browne found Pearl Jam to be derivative of "fellow Northwestern rockers like Soundgarden, Alice in Chains , and the defunct Mother Love Bone", and felt that it "goes to show that just about anything can be harnessed and packaged.

Christgau described it as "San Francisco ballroom music" whose "distinguishing characteristics" could only be discerned by listeners if they "take the right drugs".

Cross wrote in The Rolling Stone Album Guide that Ten sounded less original and more self-important than Nirvana's Nevermind , but it also showcases the band's intricate guitar style and Vedder's distinctive singing.

In , the album was ranked number on Rolling Stone ' s list of the greatest albums of all time , [58] and again in a revised list. Ten initially sold slowly upon its release, but by the second half of it became a breakthrough success, attaining an RIAA gold certification. Ten would eventually peak at number two for four weeks. By February , American sales of Ten surpassed those of Nevermind , the breakthrough album by fellow grunge band Nirvana.

Ten produced three hit singles, " Alive ", " Even Flow ", and " Jeremy ", all of which had accompanying music videos The " Oceans " video was released only outside of the U. The singles all placed on the Mainstream Rock and Modern Rock charts.

Monday 6 May Tuesday 7 May Wednesday 8 May Thursday 9 May Friday 10 May Saturday 11 May Sunday 12 May Monday 13 May Tuesday 14 May Wednesday 15 May Thursday 16 May Friday 17 May Saturday 18 May Sunday 19 May Wednesday 22 May Thursday 23 May Monday 3 June Tuesday 4 June Wednesday 5 June Thursday 6 June Friday 7 June Saturday 8 June Sunday 9 June Monday 10 June Tuesday 11 June Wednesday 12 June Monday 17 June Tuesday 18 June Wednesday 19 June Thursday 20 June Saturday 22 June Sunday 23 June Monday 24 June Tuesday 25 June Wednesday 26 June Thursday 27 June Friday 28 June Saturday 29 June Sunday 30 June Monday 1 July Tuesday 2 July Wednesday 3 July Thursday 4 July Friday 5 July Saturday 6 July Sunday 7 July Monday 8 July Tuesday 9 July Wednesday 10 July Friday 12 July Sunday 14 July Romantic Evening Sex All Themes.

Features Interviews Lists. Streams Videos All Posts. Album Pick. Stream or buy on:. Release Date August 27, Recording Date March 27, - April 26, Empowerment Revolution Solitude. Track Listing. If the last attempt fails, Ten Club will email the member notifying them that the membership could not be renewed and is therefore expired. For memberships that have been expired less than 90 days after the date of expiration: Your delinquent account may be renewed by logging in and purchasing a membership.

Your membership benefits will start up again on that date of payment and you will keep your last member number. For memberships that have been expired for more than 90 days after the expiration date: Delinquent accounts can be renewed by logging in to the expired account and purchasing a new membership.

Your membership benefits will start up again on that date of payment. Kurt Cobain". Christgau's Consumer Guide: Albums of the '90s. Retrieved on April 27, Retrieved September 16, February The Times. October Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Pause and Play. Archived from the original on March 28, Retrieved May 6, Spin July Nieuwe Revu. April 21, Retrieved on June 30, The New York Times.

January 12, Retrieved on February 12, Retrieved September 5, Hung Medien. Retrieved August 14, Retrieved March 7, Phononet GmbH.

UK Albums Chart. Top of the Shops. Retrieved April 4, September 24, Archived from the original on September 19, Retrieved September 26, April 11, Retrieved April 2, July 14, Prometheus Global Media.

Retrieved August 3, Retrieved October 15, Retrieved October 21, Retrieved September 29, Archived from the original on October 15, Irish Recorded Music Association. Retrieved 13 August, Recording Industry Association of America. Archived from the original on September 24, Retrieved February 4, Australian Recording Industry Association. Retrieved July 10, Music Canada. IFPI Denmark. Retrieved January 15, Scroll through the page-list below until year to obtain certification.

Bundesverband Musikindustrie. Federazione Industria Musicale Italiana. Select "Tutti gli anni" in the "Anno" drop-down menu. Select "Ten" in the "Filtra" field. Select "Album e Compilation" under "Sezione". Recorded Music NZ. Polish Society of the Phonographic Industry. IFPI Sweden. IFPI Switzerland.

British Phonographic Industry. Select albums in the Format field. Select Platinum in the Certification field. Ten Vs. Merkin Ball. Book Category.

Namespaces Article Talk.