Smashing Pumpkins Siamese Dream

Shortly after the Pumpkins Smashing Pumpkins Siamese Dream inCorgan posted a message to the band's blog saying that they were "[l]ooking for girls from Siamese Dream album cover Saturday 12 October Christgau's Consumer Guide: Albums of the '90s. Saturday 10 August Archived from the original on August 12, Track Listing.

Jazz Latin New Age. Aggressive Bittersweet Druggy. Energetic Happy Hypnotic. Romantic Sad Sentimental. Sexy Trippy All Moods. Drinking Hanging Out In Love. Introspection Late Night Partying. Rainy Day Relaxation Road Trip.

Romantic Evening Sex All Themes. Features Interviews Lists. Streams Videos All Posts. Album Pick. Track Listing. Meanwhile, Corgan was also going through his own problems. He would admit in that throughout the recording process he had been planning his own suicide. Stating that he had gotten rid of most of his things and was "fantasizing about my own death, I started thinking what my funeral would be like and what music would be played.

Virgin began to grow impatient with the album's recording as it went over budget and became behind schedule. The band, however, would not let the company cut corners if it meant compromising the sound. The album boasts relatively high production values and ornate arrangements compared to other earlys alternative albums.

Vig said, "Billy wanted to make a record that people would put on and say, 'What the fuck was that? Corgan has stated that " Soma " alone contains up to 40 overdubbed guitar parts. The subjects of Corgan's lyrics on Siamese Dream varied.

Corgan noted that most of his lyrics for the album were about his girlfriend and future ex-wife Chris Fabian, with whom he had briefly broken up at the time he wrote the songs. In "Cherub Rock", the album's opening track, Corgan attacked the American music industry , [24] and "Today" is about a day that he was experiencing depression and suicidal thoughts.

The artwork for the album was initially going to be created by an outsider artist , but after a series of disagreements with the label, Corgan was forced to step in at the last minute. In , Virgin Records reissued the album with the original page booklet. Shortly after the Pumpkins reformed in , Corgan posted a message to the band's blog saying that they were "[l]ooking for girls from Siamese Dream album cover As you all know, they were quite young when the photo was taken.

They are not conjoined anymore, as far as we know. According to Corgan, "Just found out the weirdest news: our bass player Nicole just admitted she is one of the girls on the cover of Siamese Dream. Given Fiorentino's age at the time of the album, this would make her too old to be on the cover of the album.

Pictures exist of Billy standing with Ali Laenger, the girl on the right side of the photograph, but it is unknown if the girl on the left, identified as LySandra Roberts, met Billy like Laenger did.

The album was also released as a shaped wooden box set aka Siamese Dream Collectors Edition with metal hinges, limited to only 1, copies and containing the UK HUT CD album housed in a recess with individually numbered silver metal embossed plate at the side and a page booklet housed in a similar recess in the lid.

Siamese Dream was released on July 27, and debuted at number ten on the Billboard the following week. Select ' s Andrew Perry praised it as "the most grand-scale, expansively-passionate blasts of music you'll hear this year" and remarked that it would be "hard for anyone to top this one".

Entertainment Weekly critic David Browne praised the band for living up to industry expectations of being the "next Nirvana" and compared Siamese Dream favorably to Nirvana's Nevermind , concluding: "In aiming for more than just another alternative guitar record, Smashing Pumpkins may have stumbled upon a whole new stance: slackers with a vision. Siamese Dream continues to receive critical praise and has been frequently included in lists of the best albums of the s—the Alternative Press ranked it fourth, [49] Pitchfork ranked it 18th, [50] and Spin ranked it 23rd.

All tracks are written by Billy Corgan , except where noted. From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. The Smashing Pumpkins. Alternative rock [1] grunge [2] alternative metal [3]. Butch Vig Billy Corgan. This sample illustrates the song's dynamic changes when it moves from the refrain to the first verse. Corgan would sing about his depression throughout the album and "Disarm" would be the clearest example of this. Retrieved September 3, Archived from the original on 15 December Retrieved 7 January Da Capo Press.

Retrieved November 28, Smashing Pumpkins - Siamese Dream]. January Archived from the original on February 23, Retrieved September 2, Archived from the original on August 12, Retrieved November 4, Archived from the original on Retrieved Rolling Stone. November Retrieved 22 February Retrieved September 9, September Pitchfork Media.

Retrieved August 17, Monday 10 June Tuesday 11 June Wednesday 12 June Monday 17 June Tuesday 18 June Wednesday 19 June Thursday 20 June Saturday 22 June Sunday 23 June Monday 24 June Tuesday 25 June Wednesday 26 June Thursday 27 June Friday 28 June Saturday 29 June Sunday 30 June Monday 1 July Tuesday 2 July Wednesday 3 July Thursday 4 July Friday 5 July Saturday 6 July Sunday 7 July Monday 8 July Tuesday 9 July Wednesday 10 July Friday 12 July Sunday 14 July Monday 15 July Tuesday 16 July Wednesday 17 July Thursday 18 July Friday 19 July Saturday 20 July Sunday 21 July Monday 22 July Tuesday 23 July Wednesday 24 July Thursday 25 July Friday 26 July Saturday 27 July Sunday 28 July Monday 29 July Tuesday 30 July Wednesday 31 July Thursday 1 August Friday 2 August Saturday 3 August Sunday 4 August Monday 5 August Tuesday 6 August Wednesday 7 August Thursday 8 August Friday 9 August Saturday 10 August Sunday 11 August Monday 12 August Tuesday 13 August Wednesday 14 August Thursday 15 August Friday 16 August Saturday 17 August Sunday 18 August Monday 19 August Tuesday 20 August Wednesday 21 August Thursday 22 August Friday 23 August Saturday 24 August

Archived from the original on February 23, Retrieved September 2, Archived from the original on August 12, Retrieved November 4, Archived from the original on Retrieved Rolling Stone. November Retrieved 22 February Retrieved September 9, September Pitchfork Media. Retrieved August 17, Archived from the original on December 29, Guitar World. Retrieved July 13, Milk It! Cambridge : Da Capo. EQ Magazine. Siamese Dream Songbook.

Miami : Warner Bros. Archived from the original on December 22, July 17, Archived from the original on August 19, Music News Rolling Stone". February 24, January 4, Archived from the original on February 8, Chicago Tribune. The Encyclopedia of Popular Music 5th concise ed. Omnibus Press. Entertainment Weekly. Retrieved January 11, Archived from the original on August 17, Retrieved October 10, Q : In Brackett, Nathan; Hoard, Christian eds.

Select 38 : No, UB7! Entertainment Weekly August 13, Archived from the original on October 13, Los Angeles Times. Retrieved November 22, The New York Times. The Village Voice. Christgau's Consumer Guide: Albums of the '90s. Macmillan Publishers. Alternative Press December November 17, Trending Tracks 1.

Play track. Love this track. More Love this track Set track as current obsession Get track Loading. Wednesday 1 May Thursday 2 May Friday 3 May Saturday 4 May Sunday 5 May Monday 6 May Tuesday 7 May Wednesday 8 May Thursday 9 May Friday 10 May Saturday 11 May Sunday 12 May Monday 13 May Tuesday 14 May Wednesday 15 May Thursday 16 May Friday 17 May Saturday 18 May Sunday 19 May Wednesday 22 May Thursday 23 May Monday 3 June Tuesday 4 June Wednesday 5 June Thursday 6 June Friday 7 June Saturday 8 June Sunday 9 June Monday 10 June Tuesday 11 June Wednesday 12 June Monday 17 June Tuesday 18 June Wednesday 19 June Thursday 20 June Saturday 22 June Sunday 23 June Monday 24 June Tuesday 25 June Wednesday 26 June Thursday 27 June Friday 28 June Saturday 29 June Sunday 30 June Monday 1 July Tuesday 2 July Wednesday 3 July Thursday 4 July Friday 5 July Saturday 6 July Sunday 7 July Monday 8 July Tuesday 9 July Wednesday 10 July Friday 12 July Sunday 14 July Monday 15 July Tuesday 16 July Wednesday 17 July Thursday 18 July Friday 19 July Saturday 20 July Sunday 21 July Monday 22 July Tuesday 23 July Romantic Sad Sentimental.

Sexy Trippy All Moods. Drinking Hanging Out In Love. Introspection Late Night Partying. Rainy Day Relaxation Road Trip. Romantic Evening Sex All Themes. Features Interviews Lists. Streams Videos All Posts. Album Pick.

Track Listing. Cherub Rock. Billy Corgan. The Smashing Pumpkins.